OBSCURE AND OBTRUSIVE TITLE

Pages: 12345... 9
I'm sure I can teach myself natural languages as well.

With your current scheme, we'll be seeing the results, I guess. Knowing German before Dutch is a good choice, I know both and there are a lot of similarities in them, having a solid foundation in English helps on both, too. But I don't doubt you have that.
Last edited on
I'm more of an autodidact

Me too. But I simply don't have time to learn these languages now (school + homeworks + learning Perl (cgi), C# + coding in C++)

And if you are about to learn a language quickly, it's good to have a reason for that, eg. when I started learning C++ I could barely understand every third word in the tutorial, but I almost haven't noticed how much I improved my english while reading about programming and C++
I don't have a lot of time right now either, but in England, it's not worth learning languages at school. You'll learn a few hundred words that are only useful in very specific circumstances, and a little bit about sentence structure. And that's if you're slightly better than average at languages. If you're very good at languages (like my friend) you might learn some more words, more complex sentence structures and maybe how to mix tenses properly. If you're below average, don't even bother. You'll probably pass the course, but you won't learn the language.
Things are quite different in here. You have to take your final exams for at least 3 languages, two of them being set to Dutch and English, the last can vary depending on your choice: German, French, Latin or Greek. I chose German. I have learned a lot ever since; writing letters, watching and analyzing German videos and other exercises have left me quite proficient with using it. I will find myself using English in Germany, though, I won't doubt that. :P
Last edited on
Wow, this topic got REALLY off-topic... From trolling to speaking foreign languages? That has to be a record!