Why << for cout?

Hi again,

I know it's a lame question but I'm a beginner. What is the significance of <<?

Example:
int main ()
{
  cout << "Hello World"; // Why use <<? Significance? Why not cout "Hello world";?
}

Cheers ^^
Basically << is actually an overloaded operator that can handle all kinds of different arguments. So cout can cope with different types of variables, not just string literals. It also means that it is type safe.

HTH
The use of arrows for redirection have been around since the early computers.

such as
cat < myfile
date > myfile

I'm not familiar with the development of C but assume they use the same concepts that unix, dos and other common OS's used to keep the commands similar.
Such as typing CTRL-C to cut CTRL-V to paste.
That probably calls the overload:
ostream& operator<< (ostream& os, const string& str);
We have an ostream (cout) and text on two sides of a binary operator, but we do have a return value too (cout).

The return value allows chaining operators:
std::cout << "Hello" << std::setw(42) << "world" << std:.endl;
Technically, one could have a keyword foo that picks up everything after it until ';' and shovels it into somewhere, but with the operator model cout is just one object, like any other ostream object, and we can dictate how our types do print by implementing overloaded operator.

Assuming there would be keyword "cout", what should happen here?
#include "Bar.h"
  Bar b;
  cout b;

How would author of class Bar define output formatting?
@SamuelAdams

OS stuff is rather different I think.

Unix was written in C (still is AFAIK), so things like your examples would have implemented with something similar to argument lists we have for main:

int main(int argc, char * argv[])

Even though there are often a large variety & combination or arguments, there is a finite list of combinations, so these are coded the same way as anyone would process argc and argv[] - it's just that there is a lot of code to do it.