I don't understand why this function is equal to 1

Pages: 12
I'm new to C++ and I can't seem to understand why the following function is equal to 1:

#include <iostream>
int main(){

int x =7;
    std::cout << (++x <= 9 && x + 2 >= 10); //1
}

Based on what I learned about the concepts of operators (operator precedence, evaluation order and short circuiting) the result should be `0`. here is what I think it should be:

int x =7;
std::cout << (8 <= 9 && 9 >= 10);

//In other words:
std::cout << (True && False); //False = 0 

Can someone please tell me why it's equal to 1 ?!
x + 2 is 10.
Thanks Peter.
But x is 7 and 7+2 = 9. can you please tell me why it's 10 ?

I also tried a simpler function like:
int x = 3;
std::cout << (x == ++x); //1 

x is 3 and ++x is 4.
3 is not equal to 4.

how can it be "true" ?!
when x + 2 is evaluated, x = 8. The first condition is

++x <= 9

x is 7 - but this first increments x (pre-increment - ++) making x = 8. 8 is less-or-equal to 9, so true.

For the second condition which is only evaluated if the first is true:

x + 2 >= 10

x is now 8. 8 + 2 is greater-or-equal to 10 - so true.

As both conditions are true, the result of the && (logical and) is true so cout displays 1 (for true).

std::cout << (x == ++x);

This looks like UB (undefined behaviour) as the same variable is used more than once and it is also changed within the same expression.

If a side effect on a memory location is unsequenced relative to a value computation using the value of any object in the same memory location, the behavior is undefined.

n = ++i + i;      // undefined behavior 

See https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/eval_order#Undefined_behavior

Lets look at one possible evaluation:

(x == ++x)

let x be 3.

First evaluate ++x. This gives 4 and sets the value of x to 4

Then evaluate x. This is now 4.

So the condition is 4 == 4 which is true!
Last edited on