About standard strings in Linux?

I'm new to Linux dev, so far I've been mostly writing Win32 applications where `char` is `ANSI` and `wchar_t` is UNICODE.

But I see under Linux the default is `UTF-8` and also hear that `wchar_t` is not used.

So my question is is `char` in Linux same thing as `char` in Windows?
I mean, same size and used for ANSI strings?

Or is `char` implicitly UTF-8 in Linux?
if not, then how exactly do you write applications in Linux to handle `UTF-8` strings?
Do I need to use char16_t in Linux?

---

Bonus question, if I need to use char16_t, then what method exist to convert from ANSI to UTF-8 and vice versa?
Take a look at this:

https://www.man7.org/linux/man-pages/man7/UTF-8.7.html

Yes: char is used for UTF-8. Note that utf-8 uses multiple bytes. I.e. one output character might have up to 5 bytes within the string.

To cope with this multi bytes you may use a lib like this:

https://github.com/nemtrif/utfcpp

To convert utf-8 to other UNICODE format you may use this:

https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/locale/codecvt_utf8

'ANSI' does not really exists outside the windows world...
So my question is is `char` in Linux same thing as `char` in Windows?

char is the same size yes. 8 bits.

I mean, same size and used for ANSI strings?

By ANSI you mean the same as ASCII?

UTF-8 is compatible with 7-bit ASCII in the sense that ASCII text is valid UTF-8 so a program that assumes text is UTF-8 will automatically be able to handle ASCII.

The opposite, passing a UTF-8 string as input to a program that uses ASCII can still often work as long as it doesn't reject char values that use more than 7 bits or try to display the string. Counting the characters and the categorization of character into whitespace, letters, symbols, etc. are things that could go wrong.

Or is `char` implicitly UTF-8 in Linux?