Linux flle structures

Pages: 12
Hi guys

I'll start of by saying I'm pretty new to Linux, on windows all files have a signature or magic number such as 47 49 46 38 for png files, if you open a hex editor you will also find more information out about that file, and eventually the data will start and end, the data is normally followed by trailers too.

But when I do a simple google search for file formats on a Linux system( Linux file structure) all I get is articles and editorials for the Linux file system and not the actual format types, I'm trying to make a simple parser that recognizes the file type by finding it's magic number.

I also notice that when I open a normal .txt file in a hex editor(wxhexeditor), there is absolutely no metadata, the first byte of the file is just text and again there is no trailers, it's just ASCII text data. So how do text editors such as nano,vim and other text editors open this type of text file when there is no info that even identifies them as one(text file)?

Thanks!
Last edited on
Well a PNG file on Linux has the same format as it does on Windows.

> I'm trying to make a simple parser that recognizes the file type by finding it's magic number.
Like this :)
https://www.man7.org/linux/man-pages/man1/file.1.html

> So how do text editors such as nano,vim and other text editors open this type of
> text file when there is no info that even identifies them as one(text file)?
They don't.
Which is why in simpler text editors, when you open a binary file like a PNG by mistake, all sorts of fun can happen.
But text editors aimed at programmers in particular recognise that programmers want to look at all sorts of files, so some have specific 'hex dump' modes to allow you to look at the raw bytes.
you have a misconception.
a binary file uses all 0-255 values for any given byte.
a text file uses a subset of those, the printable characters.
so what happens?
say you had this 64 bit integer and wrote it to a file 9223372036854775808