General C++ Programming - January 2016 (Page 4)

by tony62
How to create the equivalent of sub-type

In the Ada programming language, it's possible to declare a type or sub-type, like this: type DAYS_OF_YEAR is range 1 .. 366; type PERSONS_AGE is range 0 .. ...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks Cubbi, your answer was very helpful. Tony (by tony62)
c++ win 32 adding list items into a combo box

I want the user to select from a drop-down list of items in a combo box. I have called the WM_CREATE function and the user can input text. Here, I've bee...
[3 replies] Last: coder777 was right. When the height of the combobox is >= 80 both item... (by Thomas1965)
by Kubani
MySQL and C++

Hello to all, I have some knowledge on C++ and know that being familiar with MySQL will be a must soon. Now how to learn MySQL please? I heard that I can learn...
[3 replies] Last: Thank you two very much for your guidance. Whatever I have learnt so ... (by Kubani)
Updated 8 page Reference

Updated 8 page reference for C++: http://home.uevora.pt/~pmaa/cpp.pdf Hopefully, those concerned with completeness will point out the missing unions, mult...
[2 replies] Last: Helios: Did you open it? Syntax only, of course. And it's pretty dense... (by simplas2002)
Unexpected break in main() using larger file on working code

I have been given multiple .txt files of varying sizes (from just 50 to 3 million). Each line contains two 'names' of 8 randomly generated characters separated ...
[2 replies] Last: That worked a treat! Thanks TheIdeasMan! It never occurred to me it wo... (by beeclear953)
by Goakki
Help!! some issues with creating a prime class

The ++ operator just can't overload. I want to know what is going on. Every time i cin a number, it only gives the origin one back to me. Thanks for your help!!...
[2 replies] Last: You cannot return a reference to a local variable (or temporary) in a ... (by cire)
saving multiple struct based records generic question