why can an xvalue be an glvalue or a rvalue in C++17?

an xvalue is an expiring rvalue at the right side of an assignment.
in which circumstance is an xvalue a glvalue? can we place an xvalue on the left side of an assignment?

Also, why is a string literal an lvalue??

Why are temporaries prvalues - shouldn't they be eXpiring values (xvalues)?
Last edited on
This may help, especially the diagram near the end:

https://www.stroustrup.com/terminology.pdf

But mainly, it is all explained here:

https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/value_category

I think the statements in your question are reversed, which leads to the confusion. A rvalue is either an xvalue or a prvalue; a glvalue is either an xvalue or an lvalue; temporaries are xvalues.

A simple search reveals:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/10004511/why-are-string-literals-l-value-while-all-other-literals-are-r-value
I'm not an expert on the value categories but I'll try...

Please don't trust what I say blindly and correct me if I'm wrong. Maybe I learn something in the process.

in which circumstance is an xvalue a glvalue?

Always.

can we place an xvalue on the left side of an assignment?

I don't think so. The docs seem to say it has to be an lvalue.

Perhaps because it gives you a static object that stays alive for the rest of the program. Using the same literal multiple times normally give you the same object each time. Two identical string literals in different parts of the code might even give you the same object. This is quite different from other type of literals.

I have to admit that thinking about this makes my head spin, but I found this:
- Value categories describe expressions, not objects.
- "Temporary materialization" (which I think is what creates the temporary) involves a prvalue being converted into a xvalue.