problems with concatenating cout and cin.get()..

Pages: 12
Hi all, I am new to C++ and I wrote a test program to print out characters that are left in the input-stream when cin encountered inappropriate input, however I encountered some strange phenomena when I tried to concatenate cout with cin.get(). I am not sure if this is a conventional way to do this but here's the essential part of my code that has this issue:

#include <iostream>
int main()
{
using namespace std;
cout<<(char)cin.get()<<(char)cin.get()<<(char)cin.get()<<endl;
return 0;
}

The problem is when I run the executable and input:

abc<Enter>

the actual content get printed out is:

cba

It seems that the order of the characters that are passed to the output-stream is reversed...

Another problem is I read somewhere that calling cin to build a new input-stream will cause the current output-stream to be flushed. However for the above code if I input:

a<Enter>

The program will continue to wait for additional input without printing out the character 'a' and '\n' that I have already inputed...
Any help on this will be appreciated...Thanks!
Last edited on
eeek sscratch what i said, maybe the concatenated calls are read in order fromr ight to left?
Last edited on
cin.get() returns the int-type-casted character that it gets from the input stream, the one that returns a reference to an stream object is an overloaded version of get(char&) as in cin.get(char&)...so there should not be any problems with this...the code can pass through compilation without errors or warnings
It seems that the elements in the chain simply get evaluated from right to left.
#include <iostream>

char printa()
{
	std::cerr << "Message";
	return 'a';
}

char printb()
{
	std::cerr << " is ";
	return 'b';
}

char printc()
{
	std::cerr << "nothing special." << std::endl;
	return 'c';
}

int main()
{
	std::cout << printc() << printb() << printa();
}
Message is nothing special.
cba