Learning Java

Okay, so I just started learning Java, and I'm practicing basic logic by doing problems of ProjectEuler (http://projecteuler.net/about), and I need some suggestions:

There are quite a few problems in there, that require me to analyze a certain number (often more than 100digits long), or a certain pattern of numbers like (http://projecteuler.net/problem=18).. And more than often, the number is too large for my compiler to recognize, and also, I don't know how to feed the pattern or grid or whatever to my program. I guess I'd have to make it read from a text file, but I don't know how to, either in C++ or Java.. So can someone please help me out?

P.S. - I've tried reading articles for reading .txt files on this site, and others, but didn't understand much. And trust me, I really tried. So baby steps would be nice.. Also, can someone please direct me to a good Java forum, much alike this one?

Thanks in advance! :)
For huge numbers you can use BigInteger class in Java, or download http://gmplib.org/ for c++.
I don't see what the problem is with reading files. It's just open, read, close.. Could you be more specific about what confuses you?
As for a Java forum, http://stackoverflow.com/ is a great forum for all languages.
1)I guess I should have specified my problem:

//What is the largest prime factor of the number 600851475143 ?

class Prob3
{
	public static void main()
	{
		long i, j, ans, k=600851475143;
		boolean check=true;

for (i=1; i<=k; i++)
		{
			if (k%i==0)       //Checks if i is a factor of k
			{
				for (j=2; j<i; j++)        //Checks if i is prime
				{
					if (i%j==0)
					check=false;
				}

if (check==true)
				ans=i;
			}
		}
		System.out.println((ans)+" is the answer!");     //Prints the answer
	}
}

Compiler error: Integer number too large: 600851475143.
How do I correct this? The problem is not because the number is out of range.. Its some other reason I'm not familiar with yet..