About Raw Pointers and Linked Lists

Hi again. I'm studying the linked lists in C and C++. Here, I tried to copy C code into C++ code. Because I'm experimenting with different structures.

My question was why the code goes an endless loop when I execute the commented delete line down there. I figured it out while typing this because it is deleting the whole node, not the pointer itself (am I right?). There is no need to delete the temp because it's always assigning to a new node. But is it causing a memory leak after the process is done? I read that I don't have to use smart pointers with linked lists (I still don't know how to use them or what's they actually). They say it makes things more complex.

The other thing is, is it OK to use nullptr instead of NULL while coding linked lists? I read that in modern C++, it's solving some problems. But can it cause different problems here?

#include <iostream>

class Node
{
public:

int data;
	Node* next;

}*head = nullptr;

void create (int A[], int size)
{
	Node *temp, *last;

head = new Node;
	head -> data = A[0];
	head -> next = nullptr;
	last = head;

for (auto i {1}; i < size; i++)
	{
		temp = new Node;
		temp -> data = A[i];
		temp -> next = nullptr;

last -> next = temp;
		last = temp;

//delete temp;
	}
}

void display (Node* temp)
{
	while (temp != nullptr)
	{
		std::cout << temp -> data << " ";
		temp = temp ->next;
	}
}

int main ()
{
	int A[] {3,5,7,10,15};

create (A, 5);
	display(head);

return 0;
}
My question was why the code goes an endless loop when I execute the commented delete line down there. I figured it out while typing this because it is deleting the whole node, not the pointer itself (am I right?).