Hi! I am a newbie at C++ and would love to have some help in solving this problem.

Whenever I include spaces in the input, the whole thing loops endlessly, I can only write one word or a sentence with no spaces.

{
    string input;
    cout << "Hi there! I am CALE (Chatbot At Library Education), what can I help you with?" << endl ;
    while (input=="exit" );
    {
     cin >> input ; 
    std::string sInput = ""; 
    cout << "Okay! your concern is noted, Please wait for our library admin to get in touch with you soon. Thank you!" << endl ; 
    }

I would love to ask for your help, and if you can, make it easier to understand. t-t, thank you!
Last edited on
When >> meets space character such as ' ' , '\t' ,'\n' and so on. It'll stop read what you input and execute the following statements. And if you input a sentence with spaces, the sentence will store in input buffer temporarily. And >> will continuously read the sentence,when it meets space,it will stop and execute next statement and read next word in sentence and meets the space and stop again and execute next statement......until the whole sentence is finished. So if you want to input a sentence with spaces, you can use getline() function.You can use like this----getline(cin,input);
By the way,there is a ';' after "while" statement, is that correct?
Last edited on
When using the >> operator to read a string it will first ignore any leading whitespace characters (spaces, tabs, line breaks, etc.) then it will read all characters until it finds the next newline character. So if the stream contains the content " hello heston!" it will ignore the spaces at the beginning and put "hello" in the string. The remaining content " heston!" is left in the stream and can be read by using >> again or other read operations.

As againtry mentioned, you can use std::getline to read whole lines. Note that this does not work so well in combination with >> (you might still want to use >> to read numbers and other things).