Segmentation fault in code

Good morning. I'm new to programming and need some help. I'm getting segmentation fault in the if statement with the following code.

void delete_car(car_data &daytona, int index)
{
    for(int i = 0; i < cars.daytona.size(); i++)
    index = read_integer("Which car would you like to delete?: ");
    if (index > cars.daytona[index].model[index].size());
    {
    write_line("No model exists: ");
    }
    if (index >= 0 and index < cars.daytona[index].model[index].size());
    int pole_position = cars.daytona[index].models.size() -1;
    cars.daytona[index].models = cars.daytona[pole_position].models;
    cars.daytona[index].models.pop_back();
}
Last edited on
Segmentation Fault means that you were trying to access an "invalid" memory address, either for reading or writing. Typical example would be an invalid (out-of-bounds) index in an array or std::vector access. Also, be aware that a segmentation fault is the "good" case, where the bad memory access becomes apparent. In the "bad" case, you read some "garbage" data, or overwrite some other unrelated data, without noticing!

When you access an array, always make sure that the index you access is in between 0 (inclusive) and length (exclusive!) of the array. The same goes for std::vector or similar C++ container classes: Be sure that the index is in between 0 (inclusive) and vec.size() (exclusive!). Especially when index comes from user input!
Last edited on
if (index > cars.daytona[index].model[index].size());
(i) That > should be >=
(ii) That ; at the end of the line shouldn't be there!

if (index >= 0 and index < cars.daytona[index].model[index].size());
That ; at the end of the line presumably shouldn't be there. But goodness knows what lines were supposed to be invoked if the logic were true.

lastchance thanks for the help and kind advice it is very welcome.