Stroustrup - Programming: Principles and Practice Using C++ - std_lib_facilities.h Works With IDE but Not gcc

I seem to be the perennial newbie here, but I have set myself the goal of working through this book. Using CodeLite, if I place the header file created by Stroustrup in the same directory as the .cpp file, it compiles with no issues. If I create a .cpp file and place the header file in the same directory, and try to compile with gcc, gcc HelloWorld.cpp -std=c++11 -o Hello, I receive the following:

usr/bin/ld: /tmp/ccYbIQlc.o: in function `main':
HelloWorld.cpp:(.text+0x12): undefined reference to `std::cout'
/usr/bin/ld: HelloWorld.cpp:(.text+0x17): undefined reference to `std::basic_ostream<char, std::char_traits<char> >& std::operator<< <std::char_traits<char> >(std::basic_ostream<char, std::char_traits<char> >&, char const*)'
/usr/bin/ld: /tmp/ccYbIQlc.o: in function `__static_initialization_and_destruction_0(int, int)':
HelloWorld.cpp:(.text+0x4b): undefined reference to `std::ios_base::Init::Init()'
/usr/bin/ld: HelloWorld.cpp:(.text+0x60): undefined reference to `std::ios_base::Init::~Init()'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

My code:
#include "std_lib_facilities.h"

int main() {
    cout << "Hello World!\n";
    return 0;
}
Last edited on
Hello killingthemonkey,

If I managed to find the right file it starts with this:
#include<iostream>
#include<iomanip>
#include<fstream>
#include<sstream>
#include<cmath>
#include<cstdlib>
#include<string>
#include<list>
#include <forward_list>
#include<vector>
#include<unordered_map>
#include<algorithm>
#include <array>
#include <regex>
#include<random>
#include<stdexcept> 

Plus other code that you do not need right now. I think this is his attempt to cover every possible header file that might be needed.

You should forget about what is easy and learn what header files you need. This will serve you better.