Overloaded Operators

I'm confused over how the overloaded operators decide which argument(s) is/are passed into overloaded operator. I have three examples below which detail three different uses. Hopefully somebody can point me in the right direction.

NOTE: Some of the terminology I use may be incorrect, I am just starting out with C++ so am getting used to it as I go by, and therefore I apologise in advance if my explanations and questions seem confusing, I have tried to explain them as clearly as possible. All of the below code is written purely for examples sake - I do not intend to actually use this code, I have just written it as an example to try and best illustrate where I am confused.

//------------------------------------------
#1): From the example below:

when running in debug mode it is easy to see that 'this' refers to 'e1' and 'other' refers to 'e2', but how is this actually determined? how does the program actually decide which object will be 'this' and which object will be 'other' when passed into the overloaded operator? in this example:

Example e3 = e1 * e2;

is the rule as simple as the argument on the left side of the '*' (e1) becomes 'this' and the argument on the right side of the '*' (e2) is passed into the overloaded operator as the parameter 'const Example& other'?

class Example
{
public:
	int x, y;

Example()
		: x(0), y(0) {}

Example(int x, int y)
		: x(x), y(y) {}

Example operator*(const Example& other)
	{
		Example new_obj;

new_obj.x = this->x * other.x; 
		new_obj.y = this->y * other.y; 

return(new_obj);
	}
};

int main()
{
	Example e1(5, 10);
	Example e2(3, 12);

Example e3 = e1 * e2;

std::cout << "e3.x = " << e3.x << std::endl;
	std::cout << "e3.y = " << e3.y << std::endl;
	// Output:
	// e3.x = 15  
	// e3.y = 120 
}

#2): From the example below:

I can again see from running the program in debug mode exactly what is happening:

// this:
Example e4 = e1 * e2 * e3;

// is essentially the same as:
Example e4 = e1 * e2;