C++ caching

Hi,
I need to store data of a 1MB file in cache, so when I close the application, and open it again, I can find the data.

Thank you.
Write it to a file. Read it back in again.
I need to store in cache. not in a temporary memory. I need to read file once to memory, and then read directly from memory.

Thanks.
the extra simple workaround to this type of requirement is ye olde ram disk, which are still available. It makes a block of ram look like a disk drive. If you reboot the machine, all items in the 'drive' are deleted, so be sure to save changes back out to a real disk at some sensible frequency. I think some of the modern drivers for these can optionally cache and restore the contents to disk on demand and read it in at startup.

you can also use a memory mapped file / memory based process communications techniques, but I am not an expert in those and don't know how to make them persist after program termination.

there are other methods if this does not work for you.
-- you cannot force something to stay in cache. CPU cache is a precious resource and I am not aware of any way to lock it down, and even if you could, it would probably cause problems on any operational system and could only be safely done on a dedicated / embedded machine possibly with a modified OS that let you do this.

on any modern machine a 1mb file is so small it can be read from (a defragmented or SSD) disk and put into memory incredibly fast. you may not get a lot of performance from this approach; every scenario I can think of where this would give appreciable performance gains imply a design problem.
Last edited on
Jonnin,
Thanks for your help. I tried to save a variable in memory, and get the address of that variable, and then tried to remove the initialization of the variable, and then print what inside the address, and it did change (Memory not persistent). Is there any way to make it persistent.

Example
int x=0; has address &aabbccdd