Can't get a While Loop to Compile Properly

Greetings. I am a complete beginner on C++, but have worked in Matlab a lot. I feel embarrassed for even having to ask this, but I think it is a compile problem which is above my head.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int countDown;
    cout << "How many greetings do you want?\n";
    cin >> countDown;

while (countDown > 0)
    {
        cout << "Hello!";
        countDown = countDown - 1;
    }

cout << endl;
    cout << "That's all!\n";

return 0;
}

The code outputs nothing. I experimented around with outputs outside of the loop, and it will still do the same thing, i.e. nothing.

I have narrowed it down to the while loop. Any sample programs I have tried using 'while' causes it to just not work. If I comment out the while loop, everything else works fine. I am compiling with Code::Blocks. What am I missing?
Note: A "compile program" is when errors in the code prevent successful compilation. If the compilation succeeds to produce an executable, but running that binary produces unexpected results, then the "runtime error" is usually due to invalid input and/or error in program logic.

Anyway, the code looks valid and the 'cpp.sh' online site compiles and runs the program as expected. Therefore, the question is, how do you run the program?
Last edited on
I'm thinking that this may just be the console closing down problem. Does the console stay open after you input a number? Try using System("PAUSE"); right before return 0;there's a lot of debate about this method, but it's quick and it works.
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int countDown;
    cout << "How many greetings do you want?\n";
    cin >> countDown;
    cin.get();

//    while (countDown > 0)
//    {
//        cout << "Hello!";
//        countDown = countDown - 1;
//    }
//
    cout << endl;
//    cout << "That's all!";
    cin.get();
    return 0;
}