how to download unix?

Pages: 12
Please tell me where can I download UNIX , as I am new to open source programming.
Or , any other software for unix kernel programming .
Please answer with details . Thanks
Cheers
SAM
UNIX and open? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unix

Do you mean FreeBSD?

[edit] Nothing prevents open source programming on proprietary OS.
Last edited on
You should get a version of Linux
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
and why is that? unix is still widely used and a fine operating system (or at least free bsd was. i liked it)
Define "widely used"... Last time I checked, Microsoft (unfortunately) had majority of desktop PC's infected with their OS.

Edit: I agree with ajh32
Last edited on
for home users yes. most servers i have to install take either ubuntu server or freebsd
I thought that Linux and FreeBSD were Unix-like, not Unix.

Edit: especially looking on GNU's meaning(and we are using GNU/Linux), also looking at origins of Linux.
Last edited on
Unix (today) is not an OS at all, is a a standard, a set of requirements put on paper. It is part of POSIX, which different operating systems try to follow, more or less successfully: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Single_UNIX_Specification

A long time ago, Unix was the name of an OS. You can download it here, for example:
http://ftp.fibranet.cat/UnixArchive/PDP-11/Boot_Images/
(you'll need a PDP-11 emulator to run it, I use simh)
Mac OS X is UNIX. :0)

Yes, BUT he will either need a Mac or build a Hackintosh. I suspect he's got an older PC and wishes to install a Unix derivative on it, hence why I suggested Linux.

BTW - I use Macs, I prefer them to PCs with Windows
hey @cubbi : u have posted a link. But there are lots of links there . which one to install ?
He wasn't seriously suggesting you install stuff on that link, he was trying to explain what Unix is and what it isn't.

Perhaps if you explained what you're doing, or provide some context, someone can provide a more helpful answer.