Learning assembler language

Hello forum!

I'm a total newbie who wants to learn assembler (assembly) language, I know the basics of C++ already, and im reading pcasm by dr carter, but the problem is I have an Intel duo core and my programs crash when I assemble and link them. The Art of Assembly is a bit too advanced for me atm. Are there any free e-books for assembly with an Intel CPU? Whats the easiest assembler to use? There's not much ASM reference as there is modern day languages.. so a push in the right direction would be very much appreciated :), thank you for your time
The best idea might be to use an emulator. Something as simple as DosBox. Here I assume you're writing 16 bit code.
I agree, use DOSBox. What I would do is make a DOSBox folder and edit the [autoexec] section in the configuration file to add
MOUNT C: <path>
C:
cls

where <path> is the path to your DOSBox directory (I use C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Local\DOSBox on Windows and /home/chris/.dosbox on Linux).

Then, install an assembler that can produce 16-bit code (NASM is my favourite) and find a DOS assembly tutorial. Put your code in the DOSBox folder, compile it with NASM on your host OS, and then run the executables in DOSBox. That way you don't have to mess around with installing programs on DOSBox.

If you want an assembly instruction reference, one of the Intel Manuals and at least one of the AMD manuals has one, and you can find a lot on the Internet. There is also an x86 assembly book on WikiBooks but I don't know how complete it is.
Now that you mention DOSBox, I still have some Turbo Pascal books from the mid 90's that I never really used. Maybe I'll give it a try, I guess it would be refreshing to think about memory in terms of kilobytes once in a while..