Expectations

Looking for feedback to sanity check my expectations of junior and not-so-junior C++ developers. Currently wondering how things have changed since I started in the business, and whether agile practices have damaged the way things work.

When I was a junior developer it was drilled into me to:
* always initialise variables
* pass non-built-in types by const reference when in-parameters
* use const correctness
* know how short-circuit evaluation works and use it to prevent unnecessary execution of code
* avoid the use of using namespace std
* use clear naming (including the single responsibility principle)
* format code neatly and consistently (including spaces around in-fix operators and keeping line lengths down to minimise scrolling when using debuggers or diff tools)

I also expect them to know the basics of OOA/D and (in particular) when not to add a method to a class (things which should be a stand-alone utility function.) And know how to do routine things with the C++ standard library.

Should these basic facts be known by all C++ developers? And are there any others you think people should know before they drop the "junior" from their title?

Thanks, Andy
Last edited on
Speaking from the perspective of a self-taught programming hobbyist, abso-fraggin'-lutely that list should be known and adhered to. From the beginning even when one is first starting the journey of learning programming.

My two biggest "set in stone" guidelines are "avoid 'using namespace std;'" when writing new code and "always format code" for a consistent look and feel.

But then I'm not even an "expert beginner" when it comes to programming so take what I say with a truckload of salt.

https://daedtech.com/how-developers-stop-learning-rise-of-the-expert-beginner/
Those are all good ideas, but unless you have a document spelling out what is and isn’t correct you have no standing to enforce it.

Everything is ultimately a business decision.