why i have come to this site

Pages: 12
Sure a 6yr old might not have the discipline to spend hours a day learning C++ but they could begin to learn it if they were interested and taught by a patient teacher.

That's what I meant.
:) Sry Chris. Im a teacher at heart and hate it when people try to put limits on what a person is capable of learning. It doesn't matter how old you are or how smart you are, if you want to learn something and you put the effort forth you can do it.
:) Sry Chris. Im a teacher at heart and hate it when people try to put limits on what a person is capable of learning. It doesn't matter how old you are or how smart you are, if you want to learn something and you put the effort forth you can do it.

I disagree. Intelligence is more to do with nature than nurture, IMO. If you put the effort in, you will learn what you want; yes. However, due to the nature of some, they cannot learn this subject. If they put the mental effort in, they would maybe be able to. But they don't. Why? Because programming isn't for them. That is the distinction between learning something and not learning it, IMO.
I'd have to say I agree with chris on this topic.
Because programming isn't for them. That is the distinction between learning something and not learning it
If they put the mental effort in, they would maybe be able to. But they don't. Why? Because programming isn't for them. That is the distinction between learning something and not learning it

I completely agree with you on that. As evidence let me direct you to the if statement in my last post.
if (you_want_to_learn == true && you_put_the_effort_forth == true)
    { 
        you_can_do_it == "Heck Yeah, you can"
    }
IMO intelligence is more to do with personality than mind power. People say "anyone can do a PhD in Physics, Maths or Chemistry, if they put the effort in." Yes, but they won't. Their personality says so.