General C++ Programming - March 2023 (Page 2)

Boost logging library

may i please inquire re/ Boost logging library . a cursory reading of the manual indicates it merely stores strings of the programmer's choosing . i wish to uti...
[2 replies] Last: This is one kind of workflow where you might want to record inputs to ... (by salem c)
Undefined reference when using generics

Recently my class started to dig deeper into working with generics and templates for Java. Since I'm still learning C++, I thought it would be a nice learning e...
[3 replies] Last: You're not using generics. Generics are a different concept in other H... (by IWishIKnew)
same function name different signature

Why the following code does not compile in g++? struct A { int foo(int x) { return x * 2; } }; struct B: A { int foo(int x, int y) { ...
[3 replies] Last: Can also specify to use foo() in A explicitly: struct A { int foo(... (by seeplus)
output read string between getchar() calls

Hello mates, i dont understand what my code is doning and why. #include <iostream> int main() { std::string msg; int c; while ((c = getchar())...
[8 replies] Last: if i replace getchar() with getch() from conio.h, i dont get any key ... (by seeplus)
by Cplusc
if condition for class constructor

I'm trying to have a class constructor in an if condition but the compiler dos not accept that. here is the code, LattModel::LattModel() :VelocitySet( { 4....
[2 replies] Last: Ops,you're right. I should've used macro instead of if condition.Thank... (by Cplusc)
by wk1999
asio coroutine timer

I am being confused the asio::timer coroutine does not work if I modify the timer in another coroutine: The "Leave foo" never reached: Enter foo Enter ba...
[2 replies] Last: The timer will expire in function bar: timer.expires_after(asio::chron... (by wk1999)
std::string to std::ifstream