Permutation of withdrawing 2 balls out of 5

I hope if there is someone have the time to read and help me to solve this problem. I stopped doing programming for a very long time. I am a freelance C++ programmer. I am actually Auto Technician and Accountant.

If I have 5 balls. I want to see all the possibilities of having to withdraw 2 balls.
Which is:

I made this program:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
int n = 0;

int m = 1;

for (int i = 0; i < 5; i++ )
{
for (int e = 0; e < 5; e++ )
{
cout << m << "." << ++n << "\n";
}
n = 0;
m = m + 1;
cout << endl;
}
}
Which gave me:
(1.2)

(2.1)
(2.2)

(3.1)
(3.2)
(3.3)

(4.1)
(4.2)
(4.3)
(4.4)

(5.1)
(5.2)

But I do not need the one between Brackets, because it will be repetition.
So now I need a program that would have no repeated numbers. I modified the program to read:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
int n = 0;
int m = 1;
{
for (int e = 0; e < 5; e++ )
{
if (n == m || n > m)
continue;
cout << m << "." << ++n << "\n";
}
n = 0;
m = m + 1;
cout << endl;
}
}
But it gave the oppsit of what I want. It gave me:

(1.1)

(2.2)

(3.3)

(4.4)

(5.5)

Although I wanted them to be the smaller number at the beginning, but the program really did what I want except the following repeated numbers (between Brackets) 1.1, 2.2 3.3, 4.4, 5.5.

To help you ease back into C++ programming you might want to spend some time lurking around the free lessons at Learn C++.

https://www.learncpp.com/
A good way to approach a problem is simplifying:
int main ()
{
{
for (int e = i + 1; e < 5; e++ )
{
cout << i + 1 << "." << e + 1 << "\n";
}

cout << endl;
}
}
I.e. you don't need n or m.
#include <iostream>
int main()
{
   const int N = 5;
   for ( int first = 1; first < N; first++ )      // yes, " first < N ", but "second <= N"
      for ( int second = first + 1; second <= N; second++ ) std::cout << first << ", " << second << '\n';
}
Last edited on