General C++ Programming - July 2021

Printing string creates stackdump

Moving on from https://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/279314/ , I put that aside temporarily and decided to just move on for now. New issue: The code thinks th...
[12 replies] Last: Here you go, OP. https://github.com/Axocudo/Axocudo/pull/2 I removed a... (by helios)
Questions relating to algorithms, sorting, linked lists, and functions

Should an algorithm with a better worst case runtime should always be used over an algorithm with a worse worst case runtime? If the user runs a linear searc...
[3 replies] Last: N^3. why? the inner loops is n*n, the outer is n/3, ignore the const... (by jonnin)
Please help me figure out what I'm doing wrong here

I'm making my own programming language, I have some experience with that in Python and Java. But I tried doing it in C++ and now I have an issue with reading fi...
[10 replies] Last: Update: It's not solved at all, I'll make a new thread for this tho as... (by AceKiron)
Purchase C/C++ license

I wish to purchase a license to MS C/C++ 2017 professional edition, without other aspects of Visual Studio 2017. Is it possible to do that? If so, how?
[3 replies] Last: If you need a professional edition of VS look into VS 2022. Not yet o... (by George P)
Image rd file compress (1,2,3,4)

Hi I am trying to read TGA file and then need to compress to almost half the size of the image file. How can this be achieved in cpp? Any suggestions usin...
[67 replies] Last: > Verify manually means? Somewhat simplified; verify that the types ... (by JLBorges)
Add graphics to executable without resource rc file.

Using C++11 on a Microsoft Windows operating system that is 32 bit and compiling with Code::Blocks 17.12 . I have been reading about using a resource file. I...
[12 replies] Last: helios, thank you. It looks like I might build the bitmap from scratc... (by keyboard9)
Need replace enter key c++