Smart pointer confusion (std::unique_ptr in function argument)

Pages: 12
this is my first time working smart pointer and I getting confused with this:
void test(std::unique_ptr<int> s)
{
    cout << *s;//(s == nullptr);
}

int main()
{
    int * n = new int(55);
    test(std::unique_ptr<int>(n));
    test(std::make_unique<int>(n));
    return 0;
}

Wich of the the function call above is the correct one?
Last edited on
L9. unique_ptr takes as argument an already allocated pointer.

L10 with make_unique() takes a value as an argument (not a pointer) and allocates the required memory and returns a type std::unique_ptr.

Your compiler should squark at L10.

You can do this:

#include <memory>
#include <iostream>

void test(std::unique_ptr<int> s) {
	std::cout << *s;//(s == nullptr);
}

int main() {
	//int* n = new int(55);
	//test(std::unique_ptr<int>(n));
	test(std::make_unique<int>(55));
	return 0;
}

So I should choose L11?
ps: what does "squark" mean in this context?
Last edited on
The code that I have it has n declared like that:
int* n = new int(55); // with some other variable type but declared in this manner
So I should choose one the two options mentioned in the OP.
Sorry - it means make a lot of noise. ie the compiler displays errors. C++compilers are known for displaying multiple errors for one source code issue.

I believe @seeplus was implying that you were calling make_unique<int> with an argument of type int*. The int* pointer value will probably convert to an int value, but the compiler will probably issue a warning.

The unique_ptr you created will be pointing to an int in memory containing the value of n (a pointer value or address) rather than the value pointed to by n.

Try using make_unique(*n) in your original code, and you should be fine.
Core Guidelines:
R.30: Take smart pointers as parameters only to explicitly express lifetime semantics
F.7: For general use, take T* or T& arguments rather than smart pointers