Random Number Generator

Pages: 123
Hello all,
I am a total noob when it comes to programming, and I am stuck on a problem that I have worked on for a few hours now. Basically, I need to write a C++ program that seeds a RNG, prompts the user for a minimum value and a max value. Then the program needs to prints 10 random integers between those two values, and 10 float values (with three decimal places).
Where I am stuck, is printing just 10 values between my chosen values, and printing float values. also, if there are good resources (besides this amazing website) to better understand C++ I am all ears, I really do want to learn this language. Thanks in advance.

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>

using namespace std;

int main () {

int MIN_VALUE;
int MAX_VALUE;

cout << "Input minimum value; ";
cin >> MIN_VALUE;

cout << "input maximum value: ";
cin >> MAX_VALUE;

int value1;
int value2;
unsigned seed = time(0);

srand(seed);

//cout << "Randon values between minimum and maximum value: ";

value1 = (rand() % (MAX_VALUE - MIN_VALUE + 1) + MIN_VALUE);
value2 = (rand() / ((float) MAX_VALUE - MIN_VALUE +1) + MIN_VALUE);
for( int i = 1; i <= MAX_VALUE; i++ ) {
if( i >= MIN_VALUE && i <= MAX_VALUE)
cout << i << endl;

}

}
Last edited on
Hi

Please always use code tags:

http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/z13hAqkS/

Look at the examples on these pages.

https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/numeric/random/uniform_int_distribution
https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/numeric/random/uniform_real_distribution

That is how I would do it, but it won't help for the assignment. You need to put the code that makes the random numbers inside the for loop.

cppreference is an awesome resource, also look at

https://isocpp.github.io/CppCoreGuidelines/CppCoreGuidelines

Also, this should be in the beginners section.
Last edited on
#include <iostream>
#include <ctime>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    int MIN_VALUE;
    int MAX_VALUE;