Communicating serialized objects over network

Hi, I am a student working with this library https://github.com/microsoft/SealPIR/blob/master/main.cpp which demonstrates a "query" (L79) and "reply" (L90). These objects seem to be already serialized, and I want to run the same demo but over a local network. Can someone point me how to setup two instances of this code where one acts as a "server" and the other as a "client" and these objects being communicated from/to each other?
First of all, why do you think the objects are already serialized? The serialize and deserialize statements are commented out because everything is in the same process. Serialization and deserialization is used when one process creates the message/response and sends it to another process to process it. If the same process creates a query and then processes it, (in this case generate_reply(query, 0)), there is no reason to serialize it.

(Do you understand what serialization is?)

In order to make this work on a network, start by running it on 2 processes on the same machine. The client process should contain all of the code to (1) connect to the server, (2) generate and serialize the query (3) send the serialized query to the server (4) receive the serialized results (5) deserialize the results (6) check that the results are correct and (7) disconnect from the server.

The server (1) listens for connect and disconnect requests (and processes them accordingly), (2) listen for queries on established connections. For each query (a) receive serialized query, (b) deserialize query, (c) call generate_reply, (d) serialize result and (e) send serialized result back to correct client.

You can do the timing in either process or both.

This is not a trivial question. In addition to the above, you need to use (probably) a socket library for establishing the connection. You will also need to keep track of which client made each query so you know where to send the response.