Sort an array in pairs????

Hey yall,

So for class, I got a new assignment and cannot figure it out for the life of me. The assignment is to write a function to sort an array of numbers but in pairs. The arrays are made up of scores, like this {4 10, 25 30, 99 100, 58 60}, and should be sorted by the second number. I have come up with a selection sort function but it barely works so I won't even bother posting it here. I am still pretty new to c++ so any tips or info would help! Thanks!
Are you using std::pair<int, int> ?

If so, you can just use any sorting algorithm you want to use, but make sure to give it arr[i].second so it can sort with that number instead of the first number:

void sort(std::pair<int, int> a[])
{
	for (...)
	{
		for (...)
		{
			//compare a[i].second with a[j].second
		}
	}
}

int main()
{
	std::pair<int, int> a[5];

//Fill the array with random numbers

for (int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
	{
		a[i].first = randomInt;
		a[i].second = randomInt;
	}

sort(a);
}
you don't have to use pairs or containers, you can do it in a flat C array.
just index by 2, and swap 2 units. Since you know they are sequential, you can use memcpy or some other pointer hax to swap faster (eg here, its 32 bit ints, assuming int is 32 bit on your compiler, then you can cast out a pointer to 64 bit int and swap those in one go for example).
play with your sort, see if you can do for(i = 0; i < size; i+=2) type loop where it compares only the first of the pair and swaps 2 as one item. It should be only minor modification to the simple N*N sort algorithms. It would be a lot more tricky for the better algorithms.. I admit that this may be brain warping for shellsort.

you can do it the other way too, cast the array to 64 bit int pointer of 1/2 the current size, change the comparison to only look at the upper half... but some of this kind of foolishness only works on integers or simple types...
Last edited on