Some hard questions (maybe?)

Hi guys! I'm new to this forum and community. Wanted to take a second to introduce myself here. I'm a software developer specializing in web development. Most of my career I've used c# religiously. However I've always wanted to take the time to learn c++, which is exactly what I'm doing now!

So anyways. I've recently grabbed a raspberry pi and took the opportunity to do some projects using wiringPi in c++. Most of what I wanted to do has been fairly straightforward. However the last few days I've sort of hit a wall. What im trying to seems extremely difficult.

So the project is a tetris game using LEDs in a grid pattern laid out across a breadboard. I've got a good handle on that part as its fairly easy to plug in some shift registers and write the code to handle the game logic.

The issue is, I'm wanting to write some native audio code. Basically, I want to parse a wav file(8bit, PCM), read its contents. And translate that to frequencies between 0-8000( the limit of my passive speakers)

I have already written the notes to play for tretris myself and that works fine, but actually reading it from a wav file is part of what I wanted to accomplish, so it feels like cheating to just write the notes myself.

So far, I've been able to read the headers correctly. And I've got data chunk loaded into memory.. And I've been told I need to use a fft to translate that data to readable frequencies. Im not sure exactly how that's done. I've ran the data through fftw3 but when I play it's output it sounds like a garbbeled mess. I've also tried using libsnd library to convert it, and that did return a list of frequencies between 1 and -1. But I'm not sure where to go from there, as wiringPI can't set a pin to a negative voltage

I know this was long. I thank anyone who took the time to read it! I'll try to track the progress of my project on this thread so you guys can see it come together! Thank you immensely!

Last edited on