How to know what I don't know about C++

As a self learner,I am struggling to get any confidence in programming. When I see typical easy problem I just don't feel interested to solve. But when I see the harder problems , I feel like I know nothing about C++.Understanding the algorithm is not the problem without the research papers.I studied quite a few books on C++ but I know my problem is, I neither solved any exercise problems at the end of each chapters nor practiced from any good website. I studied a lot of syntax of C++. Unlike other people I couldn't give enough time on programming since I am not a CS student but will change my career after I graduate from college.I apologise for all of my short comings.

With those being said, my biggest problem is I can come up with so many project ideas but I just struggle to get through , even don't know how to approach.

Last night I was trying to read a JPG/PNG/BMP image file and apply a few transformation on it just using pure standard C++ library. I don't want to use any third party to accomplish my job. Searching through internet I found it was never easy, got few codes and get struggled to understand those because those didn't come up with any good comments or any theoretical description.Here I feel like applying filtering,FT or rotating the images is easier than to read those images in C++.

Just before writing this post, another small project idea came to my mind. How it would be to build a command line program which will search for nearby available WiFi and will connect my laptop after I put on username and password. I just don't want to use my OS built-in program. And I even don't know how to communicate with Wifi driver using C++.I want to accomplish it using standard C++.