Suggestion for password hashing function

Hey guys!

I'm working on a project which currently stored a user's credentials (username and password) on a file.

For security reasons I'd like to hash the password and stored that on the file instead of the actual password.

I've never done hashing before, so I would like to know how you would come about doing that?

Would you simply use a function which takes as an argument a string and perform some sort of mathematical operations with that string in order to end up either with a series of seemingly random numbers or chars?

Thanks for your suggestion and advice,

Regards,

Hugo.
Last edited on
For this kind of application, don't design your own hash function. Just use a cryptographic hash function like SHA-256. Don't use broken or weak functions like MD5 or SHA-1.

Personally, for most uses, I like the implementations here because they're easy to use:
https://github.com/B-Con/crypto-algorithms
They're single-file and have a simple interface.
If you need speed, you can use the ones from Crypto++:
https://www.cryptopp.com/
But Crypto++ is a relatively large library and the interface isn't quite as intuitive (at least, not to me). It may not be a perfect fit for your project if all you need is a hash function.
From my understanding, while using a simple SHA-256 (w/ salt) or other secure hash function may be acceptable for simple security, implementations for passwords should rather be using something with an adjustable amount of hashing iterations to further mitigate rainbow attacks or other brute-force attacks.

For example,
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PBKDF2
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scrypt

Some quotes:

RFC 8018, published in 2017, recommends PBKDF2 for password hashing