Chef and Triangles debugging

I am a beginner in C++ programming language. I have written a code and i'm getting a runtime error with the following error code: SIGTSTP
I have no clue what to do now. I tried to look for a solution online, but all i found was that this might happen on division by zero or trying to allocate memory blocks which are otherwise not accessible to the program. Please look into the code once. And here is the question link btw, which i was trying to solve: https://www.codechef.com/problems/TRICHEF#

Code:

#include <bits/stdc++.h>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int t;
cin>>t;
while(t--)
{
int n;
cin>>n;
int const l=n;
int a[l];
int b[l];
while(n--)
{
cin>>a[n]>>b[n];
}
n=l;
int p=n-1;
int q=p-1;
float sum=0;
while(n--)
{
while(p--)
{
while(q--)
{
float ar=abs((a[q]*(b[p]-b[n]))+(a[p]*(b[n]-b[q]))+(a[n]*(b[q]-b[p])))/2;
sum+=ar;
}
}
}
cout<<sum<<endl;
}
return 0;
}

Thank you for your time :)
Last edited on
PLEASE USE CODE TAGS.

If you are going to nest your n, p, q loops like that then you either need to reset them individually to their maximum values before running, or ... considerably better ... use for-loops instead.

At the moment, your loop variables (and, hence, array indices) are going into negative territory (and then continuing getting more negative for ever).

Put in some debugging lines; e.g.
cout << n << " " << p << " " << q << endl;
just before your float ar = ... line. This will make the problem obvious.

You will be scuppered by integer division in finding that area.

I suspect you will be heading for a time-limit exception as well.

Your lines
int a[l];
int b[l];

are also illegal in standard C++, because size l is not known until run-time.
Last edited on
Also for the love of God, don't use l as a variable name.