Portable Code - Type Size problem

Hey,

As far as i know, types (e.g int) might have a different size on different plattforms, therefore you should create typedefs to avoid the problem(int32,int16, etc..)

But what problems may actually occur if I just use int for every plattform and the int has a different size?

Aren't there also problems with C++11 'auto' and typedefed int(or any other typedefed built-in type)? If I have to use my typedef integer type I should also avoid to used auto i = 10 Right? (because auto would make it a build-int int?)
I could only use auto i = int32{10}

Im a game developer and I have to work with game engines, where all of them typedefed the built-in types, but I'm not aware of the issuse that may occur if I don't use them.
Last edited on
As far as i know, types (e.g int) might have a different size on different plattforms
Yes.
therefore you should create typedefs to avoid the problem(int32,int16, etc..)
Why?

Aren't there also problems with C++11 'auto' and typedefed int(or any other typedefed built-in type)?
You can be surprised by the choice, but if you care about the type, declare the type you want. Surely, int32_t i {10}; is clearer than auto i = int32{10};

auto wasn't introduced to save you from saying int. It was meant to deal with the complicated temporary types that lambdas and so on can generate.

Use the features appropriately and you won't get into trouble.

Trivial uses of auto leads to unmaintainable code. Just think, you pick some guys code who just left the company, and it's full of auto and lambdas everywhere. You are asked to fix a bug, work why the code is slow, or add a feature; where do you begin? You probably have to run the thing in a debugger to see the types it's using. Does that sound right to you?
Last edited on
therefore you should create typedefs to avoid the problem(int32,int16, etc..)

What problem?