Why not c with classes?

I'm sure many of you have already read the title and want to punch me for asking this but, what's wrong with the "c with classes" style of c++? I'm mainly a c programmer with some java background, and the only reason I would move to c++ is to get object orientation(you know, data hiding and other stuff that, although it can be implemented in c, it looks a little hackish).

So if I moved to c++ I would prefer to just use the features I'm interested in(that is, classes, abstract classes and interfaces), but I've read topics all over the place saying that c++ is not c with classes and should not be used like so.

What do you guys think? Would it be somehow counter-productive? What would it mean to use c++ and not c with classes?
People who say "C++ is not C with classes" are saying what they want the truth to be... not what the truth actually is. C++ is C with classes, and this truth is - frankly - the biggest weakness of the language. There are thousands of (generally legacy) codebases that use C++ as C with classes, and they all work just fine. Using C++ in this way is not intrinsically counter-productive.

The part that gets peopled riled up about what you're describing is writing primarily procedural code. This is an inevitable outcome of using "C with classes," and isn't really the "norm" in today's engineering world. Will it slow you down or be counter-productive? Not if you know when to fall back into classes (polymorphism, inheritance, encapsulation). If you don't know when classes become appropriate, this approach may very well slow you down.
Well, it is true that C++ is not just C + classes. Some valid C programs will not compile as C++ programs.
I can't remember which chapter of scott Meyers's book this question reminded me of so I've just had a quick google and found this:
http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/713401/View-Cplusplus-as-a-Federation-of-Languages

It might be of interest.