Beginners - May 2012 (Page 33)

General question on pointers

Noob here... If you delete a pointer to an object, does it also destroy the object? If so, how can I delete the pointer but have the object remain? Thanks, ...
[5 replies] Last: Thanks everyone. This is a school project, and it's the biggest one I... (by credentialed)
H.E.L.P. BEGINNER IN NEED. S.O.S

Okay, this is the prob. I can't seem to find out how to set up a a TEXT condition in C++, mac. this is the code snippet I plan to use: if (choicetext == yes), u...
[3 replies] Last: Is this what you want? if (choicetext == "yes") (by Peter87)
by Nacao
Basic setter and getter definition

Hello! I am new to C++ and I am coding my first programs but I have a couple problems here (though very basic, I guess). I just want to define a class and it...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks a lot Peter87! That was the problem. protip: never code with ... (by Nacao)
main() parameters

int main(int argc, char *argv ) or int main(int argc, char **argv) ? The first would read "array of pointer to char". The second would read "pointer...
[2 replies] Last: Another guy deleting his main post? Wait... (by firedraco)
SFML for beginners

So I finally got SFML installed and working in Visual C++, but I'm still a bit new to C++ in general and all the functions that SFML offers are a bit daunting. ...
[2 replies] Last: Try these out. It's how I learned the library: http://sfml-dev.org/tu... (by Stewbond)
incorrect output

when i run the following program and input .99 as the money amount, it tells me that i used 3 quarters, 2 dimes, and 3 pennies. it should use 4 pennies. cout...
[1 reply] : If you are using float as your type, then you are getting rounding err... (by Stewbond)
by tesh94
hello beginner here

need help with my assignment... the ques goes as follows the loan intitlement for students in the library is up to 3books and they must be returned within a...