Beginners - February 2012 (Page 28)

Stringstream

I already know about stringstream and how you can use it as a variable type, but I don't know how to clear it. stringstream v; int w; string numbers; v...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks. This should work. (by GRex2595)
I need help badly.

I am a post transfer student in my third year of programming and got transferred into a university that uses C++ while my old college used C# and Visual Basic. ...
[5 replies] Last: Go through the documentation on this site, then grab a good book like ... (by Wisely Done)
Building a calculator

Hi, I was assigned a problem where I have to build a calculator but I'm a little confused on how to get it done. Here's what I'm asked to do: Build a calcu...
[12 replies] Last: if userChoice is a char, then it shouldn't be a problem. If you chang... (by GRex2595)
Stuck

Hey, I'm a beginner and I'm stuck on this one assignment. I've included the instructions and what I have so far but don't worry about the whole thing. The sente...
[10 replies] Last: If you know arrays, then you could make the number a string and copy i... (by GRex2595)
Using static member variables.

Hello, Since a number of previous "How do I solve my globals?" topics, I've gone the OOP-ish way of programming. And I've ran into my first problem. The p...
[7 replies] Last: Guess that's where my confusion came from. Never worked with non-const... (by Gaminic)
by cokane
% operator (1,2,3)

I need to write a program that has two functions main and remainder. The limitation is that I cant use the % operator to implement function remainder I have to...
[44 replies] Last: The compiler does not generate an error. Not mine at least. It think ... (by Gaminic)
pointers on pointers syntax

Hi all, I am just reading the C++ tutorial from this site and stumbled upon some understanding problems concerning pointers. On page 71 there is a discussion o...
[7 replies] Last: Don't worry about pointers. They'll grow on you soon enough! (by Gaminic)