Beginners - February 2012 (Page 64)

Choosing a good c++ book...

I want to start learning c++, so I want to find a good book for a start. I heard of a book called C++ How to program for Paul Deitel and Harvey Deitel. Is this ...
[9 replies] Last: http://www.amazon.com/Starting-Out-Brief-Control-Structures/dp/01360... (by nickoolsayz)
by kapo
fraction class help

line 66 error: call of overloaded 'abs(int&)' is ambiguous #include <cmath> #include <iostream> #include <string> using namespace std; class Fraction{ ...
[5 replies] Last: thanks Disch ^_^ (by kapo)
by pzling
Function Pointers and Classes

Hi I'm trying to implement a class in order to use function pointers to replace the previous enum-switch structure. This has been done by embedding the funct...
[13 replies] Last: so int argc, char *argv isn't actually necessary for the above pro... (by closed account z05DSL3A)
counting tokens

hi, i'm just beginning to learn about the string tokenizer (strtok). is there a way that i can count the tokens so that i may compare tokens? eg. "this is a ...
[3 replies] Last: you can make an array of strings to store them in. (by kapo)
Questions

What is a compiler? How do you put sound graphics coding and all that other stuff togather if you were making a game? If you make the code for a game how does...
[4 replies] Last: I don't even think they really want to make games. They just think ... (by cnoeval)
by co1ote
using namespace std;

Hi, I want to know why we use this in all codes. I know that in this namespace are some entities we use in our programs, but where I can find exactly who ar...
[11 replies] Last: I google and found it: http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=4... (by co1ote)
Maths program for hw help?

So I'm using this very simple code for hw yet it dosen't seem to work...any ideas why? #include <iostream> int main(void) { std::cout; std::cin; cout << "...
[3 replies] Last: yeah, I think you may need the using namespace std (by J0nathan)