Help needed with a dictionary in c++.

Hello guys, I'm a junior student of computer science. The professor of file processing want me to do a program that could edit, delete, view, insert, search and replace text in a text file, plus that he wants a dictionary. The dictionary needs to be a new text file with every single word in the main text file, without repetitions. I just don't know how to do it and I need your help, I'll appreciated any kind of suggestion. Sorry for my bad English and the words in Spanish that you are going to find, I traduced the program to English so you guys can understand it better. Thanks! I'll be in contact.
Last edited on
I traduced the program to English so you guys can understand it better.

Thanks for that. It really does make it easier to read. (traduced should be translated, by the way.)

In quite a few places you're using the construct:

while (getline(inFile, string1).good ())

which should be:

while (getline(inFile, string1))

It is possible that getline encounters the end of file while reading from the file, but is still successful at extracting a string from the file. good() will return false if eof has been encountered.

deleteText and replaceText don't work. If you choose to viewText after executing deleteText you will see that the file is unchanged. If you choose to viewText after executing replaceText you will see that the text has not been replaced, unless it happens to be at the very beginning of the file and the replacement text happens to be exactly the same length as the text to be replaced.

Typically when you modify a text file, you want to:

-open the file and read all of the contents in.
-close the file
-make any changes to the contents.
-reopen the file for output (truncating the file)
-write the contents back to the file.
-close the file.