WHERE AND HOW TO PROGRESS FROM CONSOLE BASED PROGRAMS

Hello everyone, I am an entry level programmer and can make good console based c++ programs.I want to make non-console programs in c++. These can be either graphics, gui, etc. I am confused as to how to improve my C++ skills (mostly due to trying to start many things at one time). I want to be able to create basic GUI windows, mouse and keyboard based events, boxes, buttons, progress bars, etc. For this I am using the Win32 API(using online tutorials)but my progress is slow. And now addressing the big problem. I am looking for entry level C++ programming jobs in my city but cannot find as most of the IT - Software Companies are involved in WebSite Development, and the ones which need C++ programmers, need skills more than just console based programming. So, what kind of skills can I include in c++. What are the different directions or programming paradigms that I can take in c/c++ to move from console based applications? Thankyou, in advance.
Last edited on
I was in the same circumstance a little while ago... Be sure that you understand console programming very well before moving forward. I would suggest writing a few complex text based applications, maybe even a text based rpg before moving forward.

Once you feel confident enough in your console coding though, look up forgers win32 tutorial. This little tut should help you get your foot in the door for working with windows api.
Last edited on
I don't consider graphic interfaces as an improvement. You just create some buttons and hook them to methods/functions.
I could find it interesting if you want to know how the library does that.

Another thing is computer graphics. But only if you study the rendering, transformations, effects, etc.

If you are not interested check out wxWidgets and SFML.

@roger911: play zork.
I would suggest writing a few complex text based applications, maybe even a text based rpg before moving forward.