Terminate start>finish

Pages: 12
Write a C++ program such that its execution will keep asking the user to enter a pair of integers, start and finish, and will terminate when either start>finish, or EOF or an invalid input has been encountered. Every time a new pair of integers start and finish are read, the program will first calculate the subtotal
start2 + (start+1)2 + (start+2)2 + ... + (finish-1)2 + finish2
and then add the subtotal to the total. Before the program terminates, it should display the accumulated total and the average of all the subtotals.

Thats what i have to do. So far i have typed up a script from what i think maybe right, i'm still quite new to the concept of programming and would require some help. If possible could i get some pointers hints or anything to help me out instead of a direct code as i want to learn my self instead of being spoon fed. So far the program i have written:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
    int start, start1, finish, finish1, subtotal, total;
    cout << "Enter the value for start " << endl;
    cin >> start;
    cout << "Enter the value for finish " << endl;
    cin >> finish;
    total = start + finish;
    cout << "Total = " << total << endl;
    while(start < finish)
	{
	    cout << "Enter another value for start " << endl;
		cin >> start1;
		cout << "Enter another value for finish " << endl;
		cin >> finish1;
		subtotal = start + start1 + finish + finish1;
		total = subtotal;
		cout << "The total value of the integers entered = " << total << endl;
	}
	cout << "The program has ended" << endl;
	system ("pause");
	return 0;
}
Last edited on
variable name can't hold spaces
wrong staart 1
right staart_1 or staart1.

Loop while(start < finish) will never end. Because variables start and finish values gets only in beginning.
Last edited on
total = subtotal;
don't have a mining. You can do this
cout << "The total value of the integers entered = " << subtotal << endl;
no different.

And your