About linking

Hi,

I am new to c++ and also learning makefiles now. I have a concern about something, here is my makefile:
IDIR :=include
CC :=g++ -Wall
CFLAGS:=-I$(IDIR)
LIBS:=-lSDL -lSDL_image

OBJDIR :=.obj
SRCDIR :=src

$(OBJDIR)/%.o : $(SRCDIR)/%.cpp
	$(CC) -c -o $@ $< $(CFLAGS)

all: set_up helloworld helloworld2
set_up : .obj/set_up.o $(DEPS)
	$(CC) -o $@ $^ $(CFLAGS) $(LIBS)
helloworld : .obj/helloworld.o
helloworld2 : .obj/helloworld2.o

.PHONY: clean

clean:
	rm -fv absolutevalue $(OBJDIR)/*.o *~ core $(IDIR)/*~ *swp */

As you can see, even though not all of my executables need SDL_image library, I am linking all my executables against it. Does it add unnecessary things to other files that don't need that spesific library? Should I spesicify linking separately for each rule?
What make dialect is this? That's not quite the syntax I'm used to.

Anyways: If you have different executables, why are you using the same makefiles for them? If you insist on putting them all in the same makefile, then just use different options for each as appropitiate.
No the executable file will not be affected. After testing it appears I was wrong at least in the case of dynamic linking.
Last edited on
Actually, a non optimizing will just bake the entire library into the executable if you're linking statically, and if you're linking dynamically you will create dependiencies upon libraries that aren't even used. That's not what I'd call "not affected".

What make dialect is this? That's not quite the syntax I'm used to.

Anyways: If you have different executables, why are you using the same makefiles for them? If you insist on putting them all in the same makefile, then just use different options for each as appropitiate.

I am running this using gnu make. I have red http://www.cs.colby.edu/maxwell/courses/tutorials/maketutor/ and some of "info make". I am not absolutely sure that I am using right syntax, but it works.