Euler 14 Help

Hi All,

Hope you don't mind me asking this here. I'm new to C++ having learnt Python and BASIC years ago at school I figured it was time to learn a 'real' programming language.

I've been working my way through the Euler problems, but problem 14 is stumping me... The problem (http://projecteuler.net/problem=14) is Collatz' Problem, which should (I thought) be fairly simple to solve using an iterative method.

I have googled and googled, but haven't found anyone else with a similar problem with me. I am 95% sure that the problem doesn't involve integer overloads or similar (but I am using long long int just incase).

I know this is probably not the quickest of methods, and if I was going to speed I would have used a dynamic method, storing solutions as I went.

So here is my code:
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

long long int noIts(long long int n)
{
    /* This itterative function returns the number of iterations to get to n = 1.
    The only variable which we are working with is n, the current number in the Collatz
    Sequence.
    The function returns the number of iterations which it takes n to get to n = 1
    */

if (n == 1)
        //Have we reached the end of the sequence?
        return 1;

if (n % 2 == 0)
        //If n is even
        return (noIts(n/2) + 1);
    else
        //If n is odd
        return (noIts(3*n + 1) + 1);

}

int main()
{
    //the maximum number which we will loop to
    long int const maxStart = 1e6;

//to store the number with the most iterations so far
    long int iMax = -1;

//loop through all numbers bellow maxStart
    for (long int i = 1; i <= maxStart; i++)
    {
        if (iMax < noIts(i))
            iMax = i;
    }

//display the final solution
    cout << iMax << endl;

return 0;
}

Now this code keeps giving me the solution 35655 (after about a second of working), which apparently uses 324 iterations to get to 0, but the Euler website keeps telling me I'm wrong.