Trouble Writing To File

I am having trouble getting my program to compile without errors. I will post my source and the error that I get. Any ideas on where I went wrong? I am still new to C++.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

int main() {
    string file;
    string text;
    cout << "File: ";
    cin >> file;
    cout << "Text: ";
    cin >> text;
    ofstream myfile;
    myfile.open(file);
    myfile << text;
    myfile.close;
    system("pause >nul");
    return 0;
}

13 C:\Users\Jake\Programming\C++\testfile.cpp no matching function for call to `std::basic_ofstream<char, std::char_traits<char> >::open(std::string&)' 
 note C:\Dev-Cpp\include\c++\3.4.2\fstream:695 candidates are: void std::basic_ofstream<_CharT, _Traits>::open(const char*, std::_Ios_Openmode) [with _CharT = char, _Traits = std::char_traits<char>] 
15 C:\Users\Jake\Programming\C++\testfile.cpp statement cannot resolve address of overloaded function  
Last edited on
Before C++11 the open function only accept c-strings (const char*) so you have to convert the std::string into a c-string using the c_str() member function: myfile.open(file.c_str());

line 15 should be myfile.close();
I see a few things that look like they will cause problems.

First of all seeing as you are using strings you should add #include <string> to the top of your file.

Second to close the file you use .close() not .fclose. (Which your second compiler error points out)

Finally the argument of myfile.open() needs to be a const char* not a string. To convert a string to the right format you need to use .c_str() at the end of it (Which is what the first error is saying).

Something like this
#include <iostream>
#include <string> 
#include <fstream>

using namespace std;

int main() {
    string file;
    string text;

cout << "File: ";
    cin >> file;
    cout << "Text: ";
    cin >> text;

ofstream myfile;

myfile.open(file.c_str());
    myfile << text;
    myfile.close();

system("pause >nul");