Working Dev C++ code won't work in Visual C++

Pages: 123
I've been hacking away at C++ for a few months now, making simple console applications in Dev C++. However, after spending time in this forum and hearing more experienced programmers testify to Dev C++s inadequacies, I decided to make the switch to Visual C++.

But now my one working Dev C++ game won't compile. Actually, the game starts up so it might compile (?), but after the first move I get:

Debug Assertion Failed

Program:...studio 2010\Projects\3D Tic Tac Toe\Debug\3D Tic Tac Toe.exe
File: c:\program files\microsoft visual studio 10.0\vc\include\xstring
Line: 1441

Expression: string subscript out of range

This is from previously working code I posted here a few weeks back and at least one other person compiled successfully. I use String class in the code. Could it have to do with the location of Visual C++ class libraries?
Last edited on
The error is just what the message says, you're having an out-of-bounds access somewhere.
Just because your code seems to be working most of the time doesn't mean it's correct.

Actually, the game starts up so it might compile

If it didn't compile, there wouldn't be anything to start.
Last edited on
The error is just what the message says

but the message references Line 1441 and my code is only 200 lines long?
The error is happening in one of the libraries you're calling (one that handles strings), because you're feeding it bad parameters.

Visual Studio comes with a good debugger. Run it under the debugger and follow the stack up to the line in your code that calls the library.
Last edited on
cool, thanks, but mind if i ask how to do this?
i'm obv pretty new to VC.
Last edited on
Should be a big button near the top somewhere, in that ribbon of buttons. I seem to recall it looks like a little green arrowhead pointing to the right. Failing that, the "F5" key rings a bell in my memory.