Quick question on Pointers!

Hey everyone,

Absolute beginner here. I would like to ask a quick question on pointers!

Am I right to say that if for eg. I have ClassA, ClassB, ClassC and when I am in a FunctionONE() of ClassB and would like to get access to ClassA's variables, I would do ClassA *pClassA; and when I am in FunctionTWO() of ClassB I should declare it again?? ClassA *pClassA;???

Is it correct to keep declaring a new pointer of the same ClassA over and over again??

//ClassB.cpp

void ClassB::FunctionONE()
{
    ClassA *pClassA;
    ABC = pClassA->GetABC();
}

void ClassB::FunctionTWO()
{
    ClassA *pClassA;
    XYZ = pClassA->GetXYZ();
}

Many thanks!!
To use a ClassA's member functions you need a ClassA object. The pointers in your code doesn't point to any valid objects so the code is likely to behave strange or crash.
Your example is too simplistic. It's also flawed.

Pointers by themselves don't do anything. They have to actually point to something. Attempting to use a pointer without pointing to anything will do "bad things" (if you're lucky, it will crash the program).

For instance, your FunctionONE makes no sense:

{
    ClassA *pClassA;  // a pointer, but what does it point to?
    ABC = pClassA->GetABC();  // whose ABC are you trying to get?
}

The 2nd question there is key. Whose ABC are you trying to get? Which bring up the bigger conceptual issue I think you're having: the difference between classes and objects.

A class is sort of like an outline for a "thing", whereas an object actually IS a "thing". For example, string is a class, and you can create individual strings by creating objects:

string foo;  // string is the class, but foo is the object.  foo actually is a string

int len = foo.length();  // whose length are we getting?  foo's length! 

Moving from that, when you make a pointer, you don't actually have an object. It's just a means by which to access another object:

string* ptr;