How to select number format when writing to file

I'm modifying someone else's longer code for work, and I'm very new to C++. I have this section working, but I get only a single digit integer in the .txt file that contains the array values, and I need it to include three or four decimal places for each value as well.

I have a different version of this, for a different array, that was giving outputs with up to four digit integers, but those values actually had no decimals (they were channel numbers). So the way it is here, it seems that it will do multiple digits, but no decimal places, which I need for this particular one.

Thank you in advance for the help.

//File Write Section
  		ofstream fw("/home/silicon/Desktop/KPiX_Data/UO_CAL_SLOPE.txt", std::ofstream::out);
  			//check if file was successfully opened for writing
			if (fw.is_open())
			{
  				//store array contents to text file
  				for (int i = 0; i < 4096; i++) {
    				fw << UO_Slope[i][1] << "\n";
  				}
  			fw.close();
  			fw.clear();
			}
			else cout << "Problem with opening file";
			printf("File written to UO_CAL_SLOPE.txt");
What type is UO_Slope? What are some example values of UO_Slope[i][1]?

The default "precision" of C++ streams is 6, so if your data is being stored properly as floating-point values, something else is causing a problem.
// Example program
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
  std::cout << 1.0 << '\n';
  std::cout << 1.1 << '\n';
  std::cout << 1.12 << '\n';
  std::cout << 1.123 << '\n';
  std::cout << 1.1234 << '\n';
  std::cout << 1.12345 << '\n';
  std::cout << 1.123456 << '\n';
  std::cout << 10.123456 << '\n';
}

PS: You don't need to write the second parameter on line 2 (std::ofstream::out). It's implied by the use ofstream.
Last edited on
Thank you for the response!

I believe it is a Double_t, from this line:

Double_t slope = grCalib->GetFunction("pol1")->GetParameter(1);