Linking libraries with g++: I'm truly lost.

Hello. I'm new to C++, trying to implement the Dear ImGui library. I've been banging my head against this for about two days, so I think that the best way to go about this is not to list all the things I've tried (I've forgotten many of them) but to tell my understanding of what's involved in compilation, and pray that someone comes along and corrects whatever I've got wrong. So, to link a library with MinGW/gcc/g++, I must:

1) Include declarations of all relevant things in the code itself. This done by having #include "{something}.h" lines in my c++ files.
2) Tell GCC where to find my source files. This is done by giving a path without any symbols in front of it.
3) Tell GCC where to find header files. This is done by listing any number of directories to search, preceded by a "-I" symbol.
4) Tell GCC where to find the desired library. This is done by listing directories preceded by the "-L" symbol.
5) Tell GCC to actually use the desired libraries. This is done by the -l{libraryname} directive.
Steps 4 and 5 are only needed if the desired libraries have already been compiled into .a or .so files. I can opt to leave the libraries uncompiled and compile them along with my own source and header files via steps 1 and 2.

So, finally, I get something like this:

C:\raylib\w64devkit\bin\g++.exe -pedantic-errors -Wall -Wextra -fdiagnostics-color=always -g -I E:/Documents/Downloads/imgui-master -I E:/Documents/Downloads/imgui-master/backends E:\Documents\Downloads\imgui-master\examples\example_win32_directx11/\*.cpp -o E:\Documents\Downloads\imgui-master\examples\example_win32_directx11\main.exe