Find Largest Prime Number

A Prime Number is a number that is greater than 1 and has just two factors: itself and 1.

Given an integer, N, for N ≥ 2, a common question is, what is the largest prime number which is not larger than N?

Write a program to
Input an integer N, where 2 ≤ N ≤ 10000.
Output the prime number not larger than N.

I have no idea where to even start, I have no experience with prime numbers in coding.
Can you write code that asks the user for a number between 2 and 10,000 inclusive and store the entered number in a variable?
you do it the same way you would do it on paper in a math class.

there are maybe 4 good ways to do this problem.
1) just make a lookup table of the prime numbers from 0-10k and search out the value desired.
2) check each value from N down towards 2 looking for a prime number. slow, but still, only a fraction of a second for these small values.
3) primality test .. just check each value counting down from N. many of these are 100% ensured for small values, eg https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baillie%E2%80%93PSW_primality_test
4) generate all the primes up to 10k with a sieve, much like #1, and find the required value.
5) this one may also work with the GCD approach. GCD is provided in C++ ... you can make a few values that are the products of the primes, eg 2*3*5*7... and so on, a small number of them will do... and pull the desired value out that way. This one is a little off the beaten path.
Last edited on
I have no idea where to even start, I have no experience with prime numbers in coding.

There's loads of info on these forum pages and on the Internet in general as to how to generate/find prime numbers.
Look my other comment for your program...
Last edited on
@OP
See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sieve_of_Eratosthenes
There is a sample pseudocode algorithm included that you can use to make a start.