Terminal g++ Compiler

Hi Can I have a question here??
I am a college student who is majoring in Computer Science. My coding class professor seems to use MacBook and always compile the program using terminal app with g++ something code. I have been using Window for my entire life. I did some research how I can do similar thing in my operating system. It seems there is no advantage using "command prompt" over using Visual Studio to compile the program I wrote! And also people in the Internet say that Mac OS is the best operating system for programmer because of the "terminal" I just don't understand what makes people use command line when they can use either visual studio or XCode to compile.
Visual Studio, XCode and other GUIs are designed to make life easier for you. And they do.

But if you're familiar with working at a terminal, you'll find it more flexible. It's kind of like the difference between driving a car with automatic and manual transmission.

When you start programming, there's so much to learn. Using a GUI removes the need to learn all that console stuff while your trying to learn everything else. But eventually, as a programmer, you'll have to learn something about consoles. But it's fine to ignore them at the start.
Using a terminal to compile gives the programmer a lot more manual flexibility than using an IDE. IDE or terminal command line compiling, there are pros and cons either way.

MSYS2 does terminal style programming on 64-bit Windows, if that is something you would want. Easy to install, packages you want to install are selectable, nearly painless to update. Can create 64- and 32-bit executables. There are even some terminal editor packages available.
https://www.msys2.org/

MSYS2 has packages to compile with MinGW/GCC, Clang and Fortran.
https://solarianprogrammer.com/2019/11/05/install-gcc-windows/

The link is a bit old (2019), but still has some good info about MSYS2 packages.