Introduction and how to set up a project without an IDE

So I'm just getting into C++ and have a few questions.
But, first, I believe a (hopefully brief) introduction is in order.

I'm no stranger to programming in general, as I did poke around with BASIC and 6502 assembly language (both on the venerable Commodore 64) back in the mid-1980s.

More recently, with this ongoing 'human malware' situation cutting off my normal hobby pursuits, I decided to get back into electronics.

I attempted to duplicate a piece of obscure test equipment from the 1980s, which used a variant of the MC6800 processor. Unfortunately, not only is that particular variant (SC44125P) impossible to find today, the two processors I had available are apparently nonfunctional.

So, the hardware portion of the project is on hold while I untangle ~8K of 6800 assembly language and attempt to rewrite it in C++, to allow me to use a more modern solution, be it FPGA, Pi, or even (sigh) Arduino.

Now, on to the resources I’ve tried and am now using -

I attempted to install either of the two recommended IDEs for my platform (macOS, unfortunately), but neither is really an option.

The CodeBlocks dev group currently does not have anyone to maintain the macOS version, and the previous version, when installed, is actually missing non-trivial portions of the GUI, so that wasn’t a good option.

When I tried the other option, Apple’s Xcode, seeing it consume over 32 gigabytes (!!!) of drive space before I even opened it for the first time was enough for me to send it off to the bit bucket.

So, I’m using BBEdit for now, and found an online C++ debugger to validate my code, and also do have gcc.

Now, then, after all that - my question.

Up to now, I’ve been working on this as one big file, but I’ve come to realize it may work better if I split the project into several parts for easier analysis and rewriting, but I’m a bit fuzzy on how #include works and how to set up the project.

The 8 parts are -