C++ is not right

Pages: 12
HI People,
I am just learning C++. I have a couple of books that I am learning from.
I think there is something wrong with Visual Studio 2019 Pro.
I write programs and they have errors all of the time except for the simplest of programs. I get squiggly line under things like cin and cout.
Thanks for your help
Mark

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
    int integer1, integer2, sum;

cout << "Enter first integer\n";

cin >>  integer1;

cout <<  "Enter second integer \n";

cin >> integer2;

sum = integer1 + integer2;

cout  <<  "Sum is " << sum << endl;

return 0;

}

Last edited on
What books are you using?
char cout << "Enter first integer\n";
this should be: std::cout << "Enter first integer\n";
the same for the other lines. Put std:: brefore cout and cin not the type of a variable.
you need to qualify them:
std::cin >> integer1;

you can also place using statements at the top of the program:
using std::cin;
then it will work without the std:: down in the code.

Older c++ compilers did not require the qualification and old code, old books do not have it.
Last edited on
You are using wrong syntax.
With cout or cin, you should not write int or char etc.
You should write std:: with every cout or cin or endl etc.
#include <iostream>
int main()
{

std::cout << "Enter first integer\n";

std::cin >>  integer1;

std::cout <<  "Enter second integer \n";

std::cin >> integer2;

std::cout  <<  "Sum is " << sum << std::endl;

return 0;

}

If you don't want to write std:: every time.

You can add
using namespace std
at the start of program to get rid of this problem, just like below:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{

cout << "Enter first integer\n";

cin >>  integer1;

cout <<  "Enter second integer \n";

cin >> integer2;

cout  <<  "Sum is " << sum << endl;

return 0;

}

But if you have more than one namespace in program, you should avoid using namespace. And consider to write std:: with every command.